SWAC announces 2019 ESPN football schedule

By Kevin Kelley -

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) has announced their 2019 ESPN football schedule, which includes 13 games on the ESPN networks.

“When we began scheduling the upcoming lineup of ESPN games we sought match-ups that would give viewers and the average fan that may not get to attend our games a strong representation of our brand of football,” said SWAC Commissioner Dr. Charles McClelland.

“This upcoming slate of games highlights several annual classics, traditional conference rivalries, and matchups that feature teams that played highly competitive games last season, while also providing viewers a unique look at the excitement and pageantry found on display any given day at a SWAC football game,” added McClelland.

“Overall the relationship we have with ESPN along with this 2019 lineup games, provides our league with national exposure, marketing, brand recognition, and visibility that will be on par with many of the football conferences at the FBS level.”

The schedule kicks off on Saturday, Aug. 31 when the Texas Southern Tigers host the Prairie View A&M Panthers in the Labor Day Classic. The game will be streamed via ESPN3 at 6:30pm ET/5:30pm CT and can be viewed on ESPNU later that evening at 10:30pm ET/9:30pm CT.

The 2019 SWAC Football Championship Game is scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 7 at the home stadium of one of the division winners. The game will be televised by ESPNU at 4:00pm ET/3:00pm CT.

SWAC 2019 ESPN Football Schedule

Saturday, Aug. 31
Prairie View A&M at Texas Southern – 6:30pm, ESPN3

Sunday, Sept. 1
Bethune-Cookman vs. Jackson State – 3:00pm, ESPN2

Saturday, Sept. 21
Prairie View A&M at Alcorn State – 6:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Sept. 28
Southern at Arkansas-Pine Bluff – 7:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Oct. 5
Grambling State at Jackson State – 7:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Oct. 12
Prairie View A&M at Southern – 7:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Oct. 19
Jackson State at Mississippi Valley State – 3:00pm, ESPN3

Thursday, Oct. 24
Jackson State at Prairie View A&M – 7:30pm, ESPNU

Saturday, Oct. 26
Alabama A&M vs. Alabama State – 3:30pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Nov. 2
Alabama A&M at Southern – 5:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Nov. 9
Alcorn State at Grambling State – 3:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Nov. 23
Alcorn State at Jackson State – 3:00pm, ESPN3

Saturday, Dec. 7
2019 SWAC Football Championship – 4:00pm, ESPNU

SWAC Football Schedule

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *