San Diego Toreros announce 2019 football schedule

By Kevin Kelley -

The San Diego Toreros have announced their 2019 football schedule, which includes six home games.

San Diego will open the 2019 season on the road against the Cal Poly Mustangs on Saturday, Aug. 31. The following week on Sept. 7, the Toreros kick off their home schedule at Torero Stadium against the UC Davis Aggies.

After their first off week of the season, San Diego welcomes the Harvard Crimson to Torero Stadium on Sept. 21. San Diego then has another off week on Sept. 28.

San Diego begins Pioneer Football League action at home on Saturday, Oct. 5 against the Marist Red Foxes.

The remainder of San Diego’s 2019 schedule rotates evenly between away and home games — at Davidson Wildcats (Oct. 12), vs. Valparaiso Crusaders (Oct. 19), at Dayton Flyers (Oct. 26), vs. Drake Bulldogs (Nov. 2), at Stetson Hatters (Nov. 9), vs. Morehead State Eagles (Nov. 16), and at Jacksonville Dolphins (Nov. 23).

San Diego finished the 2018 season 9-3 overall, went undefeated in conference play (8-0) for the third consecutive season, and won the Pioneer Football League championship outright for the third time in a row. San Diego has won or shared the conference championship each season since 2011.

USD earned an automatic bid to the 2018 FCS Playoffs, but fell at Nicholls 49-30 in the first round.

San Diego Football Schedule