Nebraska Cornhuskers join the Big Ten Conference

By Kevin Kelley -

Today the Nebraska Cornhuskers have officially joined the Big Ten Conference. The conference now has 12 members and has expanded for the first time since adding Penn State in 1990.

Nebraska will compete in the Legends Division along with Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern. Their first game of 2011 is on September 3 at home against Chattanooga. Their first Big Ten game is October 1 at Wisconsin. The game will be televised by and ABC/ESPN network at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Other top games for the Cornhuskers in 2011 include Ohio State, Michigan State, at Penn State, at Michigan and home vs. Iowa. Nebraska hopes to play in the inaugural Big Ten Championship Game on December 3 (Nebraska 2011 football schedule).

The Cornhuskers arrive in the newly expanded Big Ten from the now downsized Big 12 Conference. Nebraska was a member of the Big 12 since 1996. In 1997, they won the Big 12 football championship and were also crowned national champions. Their second and final Big 12 championship was in 1999.