Nebraska Cornhuskers to join Big Ten Conference in 2011

By Kevin Kelley -

The Big Ten has announced that the Nebraska Cornhuskers have been accepted into the conference, effective July 1, 2011.

The Cornhuskers have been a member of the Big 12 Conference since 1996. Their first Big 12 football championship was in 1997. They were also national champions that year. Nebraska also won the Big 12 championship in 1999.

Nebraska is the second team to leave the Big 12 Conference this year. The Colorado Buffaloes have left to join the Pac-10, effective in 2012.

On Friday, the Boise State Broncos departed the WAC and joined the Mountain West Conference, effective July 1, 2011.

Football Schedules

Comments (6)

Never mind. I just found out. They were in the Big 8, which is pretty much the same conference, except without the four Texas teams.

Yeah, I didn’t include any Big 8 material. Nebraska was in the Big 8 forever, since it’s inception I believe, and won a TON of championships.