MAC announces new football divisional alignment for 2012

By Kevin Kelley -

The MAC has announced a new football divisional alignment starting in 2012. The addition of UMass to the conference brings the total number of MAC schools to 14.

UMass, which announced their move from the FCS to FBS in April, will compete in the East Division. Bowling Green will move from the East to the West Division.

With both divisions now having seven teams, the MAC schedules will be balanced for the first time since 2006. Each school will play eight conference games, six divisional and two cross-over games. Protected cross-over games will no longer be played.

MAC East

Akron, Buffalo, Kent State, Miami (OH), Ohio, Temple and UMass

MAC West

Ball State, Bowling Green, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Northern Illinois, Toledo and Western Michigan