Louisville completes 2017 non-conference football schedule

By Kevin Kelley -

The Louisville Cardinals have completed their 2017 non-conference football schedule with the additions of Kent State and Murray State, The Courier-Journal has reported.

Louisville will host Kent State at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium on Sept. 23, 2017. The Golden Flashes will receive a $1 million guarantee for the game.

The Cardinals and Golden Flashes have met 17 times on the gridiron since 1956. Kent State leads the overall series 9-8 and won the last matchup in 1973.

On Sept. 30, 2017, the Murray State Racers will visit Louisville and will receive a $500,000 guarantee. Louisville and Murray State have met 19 times and the Cardinals lead the series 13-6.

Louisville is scheduled to open the 2017 season on Sept. 2 against the Purdue Boilermakers at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Cardinals close out their non-conference schedule, and the regular-season, at in-state rival Kentucky on Nov. 25.

In ACC action in 2017, Louisville is set to host Boston College, Clemson, Syracuse, and Virginia and travel to Florida State, NC State, Wake Forest, and North Carolina.

The Courier-Journal also reported today that Louisville will host Indiana State on Sept. 8, 2018. The Sycamores will receive a $500,000 guarantee for the game.

Louisville Football Schedules