Fresno State, Hawaii & Nevada now official members of MWC

By Kevin Kelley -

Fresno State, Hawaii, and Nevada are now official members of the Mountain West Conference. Each school officially made the switch from the WAC on Sunday, July 1.

With the addition of these three schools, the Mountain West will have ten football members for the 2012 season. In 2013, San Jose State and Utah State join the MWC while Boise State and San Diego State leave for the Big East. That will put the conference at ten football members in 2013 barring any new additions.

Fresno State, a member of the WAC since 1992, won a share of the conference title in 1992, 1993, and 1999. The Bulldogs open the 2012 season on September 1 at home against Weber State and their first MWC game is September 29 at home vs. San Diego State.

Hawaii had been a member of the WAC since 1979. It was their first conference after being an Independent at multiple levels since 1909. They won the WAC championship in 2007 and shared it in 1992, 1999, and 2010.

The Warriors kick off the 2012 season at USC on September 1. Their inaugural Mountain West game is September 22 against Nevada in Honolulu.

The Nevada Wolf Pack enter the MWC after being members of the WAC since 2000. They never won an outright conference title, but did win a share in 2005 and 2010. Nevada opens the season at California on September 1 and plays their first MWC game at Hawaii on September 22.

Football Schedules

Comments (5)

The way things are going will Rutgers join the WAC or the Mountain West?

get two more teams and have a championship games ….that is the only way you will ever be in the top 4. 13 & 0 with as many quality wins as possible