FCS Playoffs 2021: Spring bracket and schedule released

By Kevin Kelley -

The spring regular-season is complete, and now it’s time for the 2021 FCS Playoffs! The 10 automatic qualifiers, full 16 team field, FCS Playoff Schedule, and bracket were announced today by the NCAA.

The 10 automatic qualifiers for the FCS Playoffs won their respective conference championships and are listed below:

  • Big Sky – Weber State
  • Big South – Monmouth
  • CAA – Delaware
  • MVFC – South Dakota State
  • NEC – Sacred Heart
  • OVC – Jacksonville State
  • Patriot League – Holy Cross
  • PFL – Davidson
  • SoCon – VMI
  • Southland – Sam Houston

Below are the top four seeds for the spring 2021 FCS playoffs. The top four teams will each host a first-round matchup on Saturday, April 24:

1. South Dakota State (5-1)
2. Sam Houston (6-0)
3. James Madison (5-0)
4. Jacksonville State (9-2)

The remaining 12 qualifiers (6 at-large) also open the FCS Playoffs with a first-round matchup on Saturday, April 24. Below is the schedule for the first round of the spring 2021 FCS Playoffs:

*All games EST and on ESPN3.

Monmouth at (2) Sam Houston – 12pm
Davidson at (4) Jacksonville State – 2pm
VMI at (3) James Madison – 2pm
Holy Cross at (1) South Dakota State – 3pm
Eastern Washington at NDSU – 3:30pm
Missouri State at North Dakota – 4pm
Southern Illinois at Weber State – 4pm
Sacred Heart at Delaware – 7pm

First-round winners will advance to the Quarterfinals on either Saturday, May 1 or Sunday, May 2, while the Semifinals are slated for Saturday, May 8.

The spring 2021 FCS Championship Game is scheduled for Sunday, May 16 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The game will be televised by ABC at 2:00pm ET.

Spring 2021 FCS Playoff Schedule

FCS Playoff Bracket

Comments (8)

Okay, can you explain how Delaware, who received the AQ by winning the CAA Championship, is not one of the top 4 seeds but JMU who is in the same Conference is a # 4 seed?

Simple. JMU defeated 2 CAA teams (W&M twice, Richmond once). Delaware won 4 conference games over 4 CAA teams. 4-0 is better than 3-0 in conference. But both were 5-0. JMU had better wins, so on strength, they get the third seed. Del gets a fifth.

Congratulations to non-scholarship Davidson College Wildcats. First football post season since 1969 Tangerine Bowl.

I agree with You.

It must be an uphill battle for Davidson College to get much attention in the Big Pond of Mecklenburg County where City of Charlotte & all those larger State Universities & Colleges + NFL + NBA Swallow most of the attention.

Congratulations, Missouri State for escaping a 31 season playoff drought. Great job, Bears!

Well, Missouri state’s 4-game winning streak help them get in the playoffs for the 1st time since 1990

I agree with John Wightman. Congrats to Davidson College. Also, it’s fresh air to see UNorthDakota & SDakota State in the Playoffs.

Maybe I’m wrong, I don’t know how little VMI has been in the Playoffs lately.

Awesome to see the Northeast Conference have a Conference Championship Game to determine their bid to the Playoffs.