Butler releases 2020 football schedule

By Kevin Kelley -

The Butler Bulldogs have released their 2020 football schedule, which includes five home games.

Butler will open the 2020 season with three consecutive non-conference contests with the first two on the road. The Bulldogs will travel to take on the South Dakota State Jackrabbits on Sept. 5 and the Depauw Tigers on Sept. 12. DePauw is a member of the North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) in Division III.

Butler will open their home slate at the Bud and Jackie Sellick Bowl in Indianapolis. Ind., on Sept. 19 against the Taylor Trojans. Taylor competes in the Mideast League of the Mid-States Football Association, which is part of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

The following week on Sept. 26, Butler opens their Pioneer Football League (PFL) schedule in Indianapolis against the Stetson Hatters. Other PFL foes that will visit the Bud and Jackie Sellick Bowl include Dayton (Oct. 17), Morehead State (Nov. 7), and Marist (Nov. 21).

Pioneer Football League road contests for Butler in 2020 include San Diego (Oct. 3), Valparaiso (Oct. 24), Davidson (Oct. 31), and Drake (Nov. 14). The Bulldogs’ only open date of the season is scheduled for Oct. 10.

Below is a look at the complete Butler football schedule for 2020:

  • 09/05 – at South Dakota State
  • 09/12 – at DePauw
  • 09/19 – Taylor
  • 09/26 – Stetson
  • 10/03 – at San Diego
  • 10/10 – OFF
  • 10/17 – Dayton
  • 10/24 – at Valparaiso
  • 10/31 – at Davidson
  • 11/07 – Morehead State
  • 11/14 – at Drake
  • 11/21 – Marist

Butler finished the 2019 season 3-9 overall and 2-6 in PFL action. The Bulldogs last won a share of the PFL championship in 2012 and 2013.

Butler Football Schedule