Big Ten Conference announces Future Division Alignments

By Kevin Kelley -

Big TenThe Big Ten Conference has announced their future division alignments that take place for the start of the 2011 football season. The names of the divisions will be announced at a later date.

Division 1: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin

Division 2: Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern

From the Big Ten news release:

Each school will play the other five schools within its division and will also face three teams from the other division, including one cross-division matchup guaranteed on an annual basis. The guaranteed cross-division matchups are Illinois-Northwestern, Indiana-Michigan State, Ohio State-Michigan, Penn State-Nebraska, Purdue-Iowa and Wisconsin-Minnesota.

The winner of each division will meet in the Big Ten Championship Game. The first ever championship game will be played on December 3, 2011 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The Big Ten has also released updated 2011 and 2012 conference schedules for each team. The schedules will be updated on our site later this evening.

Comment (1)

i don’t like this division alignment. it should have been: West: Nebraska, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinios and Northwestern. East: Indiana, Purdue, Michigan, Michigan St., Ohio St, and Penn St