Auburn wins 2011 BCS National Championship Game

By Kevin Kelley -

The Auburn Tigers are the 2011 BCS National Champions after their 22-19 win over the Oregon Ducks. Wes Byrum kicked a 19-yard field goal as time expired to give the Tigers the victory.

Quarterback Cam Newton, the 2010 Heisman Trophy Winner, completed 20-of-34 passes for 265 yards and two touchdowns. He also rushed 22 times for 65 yards.

With the win, Auburn claims their first National Championship since 1957. The SEC has now won five consecutive BCS National Championships and are 7-0 when playing in the title game.