New Year’s Day bowl games 2020: Schedule, matchups, TV

By Kevin Kelley -

The New Year’s Day bowl games 2020 schedule features four contests, beginning with the Outback Bowl and Vrbo Citrus Bowl and culminating with the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The College Football Playoff Semifinals were played on Saturday, Dec. 28, 2019. No. 1 LSU defeated No. 4 Oklahoma, while No. 3 Clemson topped No. 2 Ohio State.

The college football bowl schedule on New Year’s Day kicks off at 1:00pm ET with two games. 18th-ranked Minnesota takes on 12th-ranked Auburn in the Outback Bowl at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla., while 14th-ranked Michigan battles 13th-ranked Alabama in the Vrbo Citrus Bowl at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla. The games will be televised by ESPN and ABC, respectively.

Since it’s not a College Football Playoff Semifinal again this season, the Rose Bowl Game features a traditional Big Ten-Pac-12 matchup. The sixth-ranked Oregon Ducks and the eighth-ranked Wisconsin Badgers face off at Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, Calif., and the game will start at 5:00pm ET on ESPN.

The fourth and final New Year’s Day bowl game is the Allstate Sugar Bowl at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in New Orleans, La. The 5th-ranked Georgia Bulldogs square off with the seventh-ranked Baylor Bears in that contest at 8:45pm ET on ESPN.

The 2019 college football season comes to a conclusion on Monday, Jan. 13, 2020, with the College Football Playoff National Championship. LSU will take on Clemson at Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, La., and it will be televised by ESPN at 8:00pm ET.


Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2020

Outback Bowl
(18) Minnesota vs. (12) Auburn
1:00pm ET | ESPN
Raymond James Stadium – Tampa, FL

Vrbo Citrus Bowl
(14) Michigan vs. (13) Alabama
1:00pm ET | ABC
Camping World Stadium – Orlando, FL

Rose Bowl Game
(6) Oregon vs. (8) Wisconsin
5:00pm ET | ESPN
Rose Bowl Stadium – Pasadena, CA

Allstate Sugar Bowl
(5) Georgia vs. (7) Baylor
8:45pm ET | ESPN
Mercedes-Benz Superdome – New Orleans, LA

College Football Bowl Schedule