FCS Playoffs 2022: Bracket, schedule released

By Kevin Kelley -

The regular-season is complete, and now it’s time for the 2022 FCS Playoffs! The 11 automatic qualifiers, full 24 team field, FCS Playoff Schedule, and bracket were announced today by the NCAA.

The 11 automatic qualifiers for the FCS Playoffs won their respective conference championships and are listed below:

  • Big Sky – Sacramento State
  • Big South – Gardner-Webb
  • CAA – William & Mary
  • MVFC – South Dakota State
  • NEC – Saint Francis (PA)
  • OVC – Southeast Missouri
  • Patriot – Holy Cross
  • Pioneer – Davidson
  • Southern – Samford
  • Southland – Southeastern La.

Below are the top eight seeds for the fall 2022 FCS playoffs. The top eight teams receive a first-round bye and will host a second-round matchup on Saturday, Dec. 3:

1. South Dakota State
2. Sacramento State
3. North Dakota State
4. Montana State
5. William & Mary
6. Samford
7. UIW
8. Holy Cross

The remaining 16 qualifiers (13 at-large) open the FCS Playoffs with a First-Round matchup on Saturday, Nov. 26. Below is the schedule for the first two rounds of the 2022 FCS Playoffs:

*All games ET and on ESPN+ unless noted.

Elon 6, Furman 31
Davidson 0, Richmond 41
Fordham 42, New Hampshire 52
Saint Francis 17, Delaware 56
North Dakota 31, Weber State 38
Gardner-Webb 52, EKU 41
Idaho 42, SE Louisiana 45
SEMO 24, Montana 34

*All games ET and on ESPN+.

New Hampshire at (8) Holy Cross
Furman at (7) UIW – 2pm
Gardner-Webb at (5) William & Mary – 2pm
Southeastern Louisiana at (6) Samford – 3pm
Delaware at (1) S. Dakota St. – 3pm
Weber State at (4) Montana State – 3pm
Montana at (3) NDSU – 3:30pm
Richmond at (2) Sac State – 5pm

The 2022 FCS Championship Game is scheduled for Sunday, Jan. 8, 2023 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. The game will be televised by ABC at 2:00pm ET.

FCS Playoff Schedule

FCS Playoff Bracket

Comments (6)

Any reason the FCS title game is on a Sunday? They’ll be going up directly against the NFL on its final regular season day.

It would have been nice for Jackson State to have gotten a chance. I know SWAC and Ivy League teams aren’t included, but it would still have been interesting.

Last Year, 2021, FAMU Rattlers elected to accept a Playoff invitation. Southeastern Louisiana Uni. Lions beat them in the 1st Round.

Maybe it’s an option each SWAC Champion can accept or decline?

The Middle Eastern Athletic Conference doesn’t participate in the Playoff either.

Actually, in 2021, Jackson State were SWAC Champions and went to the Celebration Bowl. FAMU Rattlers was an at-large selection.