Cactus Bowl is New Name for Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl

By Kevin Kelley -

The Cactus Bowl is the new name for the annual postseason college football bowl game played in Tempe, Arizona, the Valley of the Sun Bowl Foundation announced today.

The bowl, which was sponsored by Buffalo Wild Wings in 2012 and 2013, will be played on Friday, January 2, 2015.  Kickoff is set for 10:15pm ET and the game will be televised by ESPN. The bowl pits a team from the Big 12 against a team from the Pac-12.

“Our new name represents an iconic symbol for the state of Arizona,” said Mike Nealy, Cactus Bowl Executive Director. “The name will also resonate with the thousands of fans traveling to the Southwest to experience our great bowl game and unmatched hospitality.”

The Cactus Bowl is the 7th name for the bowl game. Here is a look at the prior names:

  • Copper Bowl (1989)
  • Domino’s Pizza Copper Bowl (1990-1991)
  • Weiser Lock Copper Bowl (1992-1995)
  • Copper Bowl (1996)
  • Bowl (1997–2001)
  • Insight Bowl (2002–2011)
  • Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl (2012-2013)

2014-15 Bowl Schedule