FCS Playoffs 2019: Bracket and schedule released

By Brian Wilmer -

The regular-season is complete, and now it’s time for the 2019 FCS Playoffs! The 10 automatic qualifiers, full 24 team field, FCS Playoff Schedule, and bracket were announced today by the NCAA.

The 10 automatic qualifiers for the FCS Playoffs won their respective conference championships and are listed below:

  • Big Sky – Weber State
  • Big South – Monmouth
  • CAA – James Madison
  • Missouri Valley – North Dakota State
  • NEC – Central Connecticut
  • Ohio Valley – Austin Peay
  • Patriot League – Holy Cross
  • Pioneer – San Diego
  • Southern – Wofford
  • Southland – Nicholls

Below are the top eight seeds for the 2019 FCS playoffs. The top eight teams receive a first-round bye and will host a second-round matchup on Saturday, Dec. 7:

1. North Dakota State
2. James Madison
3. Weber State
4. Sacramento State
5. Montana State
6. Montana
7. South Dakota State
8. Central Arkansas

The remaining 16 qualifiers (14 at-large) open the FCS Playoffs with a First-Round matchup on Saturday, Nov. 30. Below is the schedule for the first two rounds of the 2019 FCS Playoffs:

*All games EST and on ESPN3.

Holy Cross at Monmouth – Noon
Central Connecticut at UAlbany – 1pm
Furman at Austin Peay – 1pm
San Diego at Northern Iowa – 2pm
Illinois State at Southeast Missouri – 2pm
Kennesaw State at Wofford – 4pm
North Dakota at Nicholls – 4pm
Villanova at Southeastern Louisiana – 4pm

*All games EST and on ESPN3.

Holy Cross/Monmouth winner at James Madison – 1pm

San Diego/Northern Iowa winner at South Dakota State – 2pm

Kennesaw State/Wofford winner at Weber State – 3pm

Villanova/Southeastern Louisiana winner at Montana – 3pm

UAlbany/Central Connecticut winner at Montana State – 3pm

North Dakota/Nicholls winner at North Dakota State – 3:30pm

Illinois State/Southeast Missouri winner at Central Arkansas – 4pm

Furman/Austin Peay winner at Sacramento State – 9pm

FCS Playoff Schedule

FCS Playoff Bracket