American changes dates for six 2020 football games

By Brian Wilmer -

Six 2020 American Athletic Conference games have been rescheduled for different dates, the conference announced Thursday.

Each rescheduled game will take place in the same week in which it was originally planned.

The changes include:

  • Houston at Memphis will be played Friday, Sept. 18 (originally scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 19)
  • UCF at East Carolina will be played Saturday, Sept. 26 (originally scheduled for Thursday, Sept. 24)
  • Memphis at SMU will be played Saturday, Oct. 3 (originally scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 1)
  • SMU at Tulane will be played Friday, Oct. 16 (originally scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 17)
  • UCF at Memphis will be played Saturday, Oct. 17 (originally scheduled for Friday, Oct. 16)
  • East Carolina at Cincinnati will be played Saturday, Nov. 14 (originally scheduled for Thursday, Nov. 12)

This release follows East Carolina’s announcement earlier Thursday that its season-opener with Marshall would be postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Future updates will be distributed as they are made available.

American Football Schedules

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment (1)

I’m guessing that most of these changes are for TV, and that American games are receiving higher TV priority than in the past. Good for the conference and I wouldn’t be surprised if they get 2 teams into the NY6 this year.