2020 SEC Championship Game: Matchup, tickets, time, and TV

By Kevin Kelley -

The 2020 SEC Championship Game is set with the No. 1 Alabama Crimson Tide taking on the No. 7 Florida Gators. The game will be played on Saturday, Dec. 19 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

The SEC Championship Game, which began in 1992, is now on it’s 29th edition. The first two games were played at Legion Field in Birmingham, Ala., with the next 23 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. Mercedes-Benz Stadium, which opened in 2017, is now hosting its fourth SEC Championship matchup.

The top-ranked Alabama Crimson Tide clinched the SEC West Division after rolling through the season undefeated with 10 consecutive victories. The Crimson Tide are making their 13th SEC Championship Game appearance, and their first since 2018 when they slipped by the Georgia Bulldogs 35-28. Alabama is 8-4 in the SEC Championship Game.

The seventh-ranked Florida Gators claimed the East Division crown with an 8-2 record. Florida will also be playing in its 13th SEC Championship Game and is 7-5 in those contests. Florida’s last victory was in 2008 against Alabama, 31-20.

Alabama and Florida last met on the gridiron in the 2016 SEC Championship Game. The Crimson Tide rolled over the Gators in that contest, 54-16, which was the final SEC Championship Game at the Georgia Dome.

Alabama will likely advance to the College Football Playoff Semifinals regardless of the outcome in the SEC Championship Game. Florida would need some other teams to lose to make the CFP, while the Gators would certainly be out if they suffer their third loss of the season.

Brett McMurphy of Stadium currently projects Alabama to advance to the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Allstate Sugar Bowl to face the Clemson Tigers, while Florida is projected to play the Iowa State Cyclones in the Goodyear Cotton Bowl.

2020 SEC Championship Game

  • Matchup: (1) Alabama vs. (7) Florida
  • Date: Saturday, Dec. 19, 2020
  • Time: 8:00pm ET
  • TV: CBS
  • Crew: Brad Nessler, Gary Danielson, Jamie Erdahl, and Gene Steratore

Football Schedules